A Look at my Collection of Books and What I Read.

How I choose what I read and blog about? That is a question that I am often asked about. When I first started blogging, I use to rely on Advance Reading Copies (ARC) that publishers sent me to review books, and I still do on occasion. But the last little while, I have found myself getting more and more first editions books to add to my library. (Yes, there is a library that exists to “The Library of Pacific Tranquility.”)

b

 

It took Anne Logan’s blog post on her collection of ARCs (who was following Evelina’s lead at Avalinah’s Books) to finally make me sit down and sort through my “to read list.”  Oddly enough, there use to be a huge collection of ARCs in that pile but this month’s selection does not include one. There are items in that mess, that I always mean to sit down and read (Ian Hamilton`s collection seems to be always in there >sigh<) There is always a few items in there from past book festivals that I pick up and read eventually (Rick Revelle deserves some attention from me soon. >sigh<) And there is a few favourite writers that I will make time for soon. (Annie Proulx has been there for a little while though >sigh<)

Do note that Kevin Hardcastle’s In The Cage is on top with a bookmark in it. It is my next review for certain. In the side are items I have reviewed but I am eagerly awaiting for signatures to add to my library. Angie Abdou has put a lot of her heart and soul into her last book In Case I Go. And I am eagerly waiting for her reading and signing in few weeks. William Kowalski is a another writer I admire for dealing with the human condition and his self-published The Best Polish Restaurant in Buffalo is eagerly awaiting a note from his hand. As is Mark Sampson’s The Slip (perhaps awaiting time we meet again over a Bloody Joseph) and his partner Rebecca Rosenblum’s In Case I Go (she keeps bypassing towns and events that I am attending.) JonArno Lawson’s wit is also awaiting his signature (along with his talented illustrator Alec Demptser) in The Hobo’s Crowbar.

d

And here is a snapshot of some of my library’s autographed works. There have been many a friend who has wished to peruse this collection but I tend to guard them VERY CAREFULLY.

a

Finally, here is a snapshot of the big mess that is sitting beside my chair. There are items I have collected over the years. They have been sorted and pilfered through on too numerous occasions. So are items that are too, waiting to be signed and moved over to the better shelf. Just not today. >sigh<

I should also mention the two items that are in production. In a back issue of Canadian Notes and Queries, I found a review of Stanley J. Slote’s Weeding Library Collections. I am eagerly awaiting a copy of that book from a dealer in Ohio. Also in production is Brick Literary Magazine’s 100 edition which the noted literary team has been working on for a while.

Well that is it for this blog piece. While it has been an obligatory piece that other bloggers have been writing about, it has certainly been a good mind exercise for me.

4 thoughts on “A Look at my Collection of Books and What I Read.

  1. Thanks for linking me 🙂 oh hey! You have In Case I Go! I LOVED that one, reviewed it last month. I have also read The Slip, but it truly disappointed me… I can’t believe you have two books in your stack that I’ve reviewed recently. Because they’re not very popular ARCs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the shout out! Seems as though a lot of people are talking about this subject these days. I feel all your “sighs”, I know exactly what you mean-too many books, too little time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

