“It’s hard to say how long it actually took to write. It is something I worked on a bit at a time for years. Sometimes I went months and months without working on it” | Q&A with author Riel Nason

9780864920416
As the new releases for the Autumn 2016 season come out, many favourites are expected by book fans alike. One such book is Riel Nason’s All The Things We Leave Behind, which is to be released on Sept. 13. Nason first book – The Town that Drowned – earned not only fans young and old but won accolades from around the world. As Nason prepares for a whirlwind of activity just before her launch, she agreed to answer a few questions for me about her new book.
*****

1) First off, could you give a bit of an outline for All The Things We Leave Behind?

Sure. It is 1977 in Hawkshaw, New Brunswick.  Seventeen-year-old Violet is left in charge of her family’s antique shop for the summer while her parents go off searching for her missing brother, Bliss.

2) How long did it take you to write this book? Was there any research involved with the development of the plot of the novel?

It’s hard to say how long it actually took to write.  It is something I worked on a bit at a time for years.  Sometimes I went months and months without working on it.  And I also worked on two other books (quilting project books, since I am a quilter as well) in the same time period. As to research, there was some, but mostly I spent my time writing and editing.

3) I have encounter many fans of The Town that Drowned that are excited to be reading your new novel. Are there similarities between the two novels? Any differences?

As to similarities, I return to the same geographical area, just ten years later.  What happened to the river valley with the flooding and some of the things that came after are definitely mentioned in the new book.  The main characters are a brother and sister again this time, but a very different brother and sister than Ruby and Percy.  It is definitely a different type of story than The Town That Drowned.

4) Do you have any public readings/events planned for the new book? If yes, are there any dates you are excited to be partaking in?

 I am very lucky to be going lots of places in New Brunswick, to Word on the Street in Halifax and to the Vancouver Writers’ Fest that I know of so far.  It is always fun to be out at literary events.

5) Is it too soon to be asking about anything new you are writing right now? If no, are there details you care to share?

I just finished something really different than anything I’ve done yet (fiction) that I would love to see published. And I also have another fiction project that is in the very early stages.

6) Are you still using social-media platforms like Facebook and Twitter to be active with your fans? Are you hoping fans of this book will use those apps to keep in touch with you?

  I am on Facebook (link to her page here), Twitter @rielnason, Instagram @rielnason.  I do post about writing and quilting things — but I also post pictures of my cats. 🙂

Thanks so much for the chance to chat Steven!

*****

Link to Riel Nason’s website

Link to Goose Lane Editions webpage for All The Things We Leave Behind

 

Save

3 thoughts on ““It’s hard to say how long it actually took to write. It is something I worked on a bit at a time for years. Sometimes I went months and months without working on it” | Q&A with author Riel Nason

  1. This is on the “soon” stack, but I was wondering if I should pick up the first book before hand (leaning in that direction anyhow, because I’ve heard so many good things) and now I know that I want to do that. (Not strictly necessary it seems, like I would love the background!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “The Town That Drowned” is a great book on it’s own. Nason crafted a story there about New Brunswick which not only is a great read but also is enlightening about a unique situation for a town to endure. (Link to my Q&A with Nason about “The Town that Drowned”

      https://pacifictranquility.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/every-time-i-edit-my-work-i-think-about-what-images-the-reader-is-getting-from-my-choice-of-words-on-the-page-qa-with-author-riel-nason/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

