“I was eager to find a Canadian press for Edge of Wild, since it’s a Canada-focused story.” | Q&A with author Danika Stone

EdgeFeels

 Danika Stone is a very busy writer. Her novel, Edge of Wild,  was just released with the new Alberta publishing firm Stonehouse Publishing. And her new novel,  All the Feels, will be released in a week. Stone was kind enough to make time in her busy schedule to answer a few questions and give us an introduction to her latest works.

******

1) First off, can you give a bit of an outline of Edge of Wild?

 At its heart, Edge of Wild is the story of an outsider fighting an unknown force. Rich Evans, the new manager of the Whitewater Lodge, comes to the lonely border town of Waterton Alberta intent on dragging the town into the 21st century. But with every passing day, he encounters immediate opposition from the townspeople. And when a body is found in the woods, it becomes clear that someone in Waterton has secrets they are willing to kill in order to keep.

2) Stonehouse Publishing is a relatively new publishing firm. How did you get involved with them?  

 I was eager to find a Canadian press for Edge of Wild, since it’s a Canada-focused story. I looked through the existing presses, and discovered that a new one, Stonehouse Publishing, had recently been opened in Edmonton. After querying them, I spoke to the co-founders, and knew that they were the right choice. They had a very similar vision about Canadian literature and publishing as I do. From start to finish, it has been a wonderful process!

3) You have written for both adults and teens. Is there much of a difference in writing for the two groups? If yes, explain.

 Yes and no. There are some things I’m acutely conscious of when writing YA, like the language level and topics, but there are far more similarities than differences. For the most part, my writing process is almost identical no matter who I’m writing for.

 4) You also have a new book coming out in June called All the Feels. Could you give a bit of an outline of that book? What inspired you to write that book?

 All the Feels tells the story of Liv Walden, a Starveil fangirl who is horrified when her favorite character – Captain Matt Spartan – is killed off at the end of the latest movie. With the help of her best friend, Xander, a steampunk cosplayer and actor, she launches #SpartanSurvived, an online campaign to raise Spartan from the dead.

 Long before I wrote All the Feels, a fan using the twitter name @CoulsonLives inspired much of the fandom-based fic-writing about Agent Coulson – specifically about the fact that Coulson could have survived at the end of the first Avengers movie. The TV show Agents of Shield was developed after this online phenomenon and it was this event that first got me thinking about the plot of All the Feels.

 5) Who are you favourite writers? What are you reading right now?

 I have far too many to list, but a few that immediately pop to mind are: Margaret Atwood, Harper Lee, Audrey Niffenegger, Barbara Kingsolver, Stephen King, Rainbow Rowell and MANY others!

 I’m currently reading The Girl From Everywhere. I love time travel stories!

 6) Are you planning much in the way of public readings and discussion of your new releases? If yes, are there dates and events that you are looking forward to participating in?

 I just finished a book tour for Edge of Wild, but I do have one more date. I’ll be presenting at Owl’s Nest in Calgary, for a reading, Friday, June 17th.

 I’m also in the midst of promotions for All the Feels so if you pop by Twitter any day over the next couple weeks, you’ll find something going on. Currently, I’m the Fierce Reads featured author and there’s a digital book tour happening this week.

 Long term, I will be attending Dragon Con September 1 to 4th, 2016 to promote, and will also be involved in The Word on the Street festival in Lethbridge, September 24th, 2016.

 The best way to find out what’s going on, is check in with me on Twitter (Link to Twitter profile here) or Facebook (Link to FB author page here). All the details are there!

 7) Are you working on any new writing right now? If yes, are there details you care to share?

 I’m always writing. Right now it’s edits for a new YA project which will hopefully be out sometime in 2017, and Hinterland, the sequel to Edge of Wild. I’m not sure when that one will be released, but I’ll let you know!

 8) You seem to have an active role on social-media platforms like Facebook and Twitter. How do you feel about using those sites in relation to your books? Does it help you keep in contact with your fans?

 I’m a big believer in the power of an author’s social platform, so you can find me online all the time. I also love giving additional bonus materials on my site. It seems to me that if a reader goes out of their way to find you online, you should make it worthwhile.

 

Thank you for interviewing me as part of The Library of Pacific Tranquility. I had a great time!

Thanks for participating!

*****

Link to Danika Stone’s website

Link to Stonehouse Publishing’s website for Edge of Wild

Link to MacMillan Publisher’s website for All the Feels

2 thoughts on ““I was eager to find a Canadian press for Edge of Wild, since it’s a Canada-focused story.” | Q&A with author Danika Stone

Leave a Reply

